Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Websites

Guide to information related to nursing: basic; signs, symptoms & treatments; patho information, diseases, drugs, news, trials, and more!

Course Specific Links

question mark

Texas Nurses Aide Procedure Manual

Health Fraud (from the National Library of Medicine)

Dallas County Health and Human Services Dept. Health Statistics/Reports
Reports and statistics for: HIV, TB, immunization, environmental health, bioterrorism, communicable diseases, STD prevention, and more. Includes the Monthly Morbidity & Mortality in Dallas County and the Yearly Statistics for Frequency of Events of Diseases Reported to DCDHHS.

Texas Price Point
Basic information about hospitals around Texas, including treatments and quality measures.

Health Data Tools and Statistics
Links to the CDC, tutorial on finding statistics, U. S. Dept. of Health and other national sources. Includes links to some state sources of statistics.

Texas Health Statistics*
Perinatal, child fatality, nursing home mortality, teen births, and other vital statistics.

Texas Nursing Practice Act

Recommended Web Sites

Peer-Reviewed Information on the Web

Open access to peer-review journals published by BioMed Central.  Browse by journal title or by subject.

Medline access to journals and other medical publications. This access allows you to narrow your search by type of journal, such as nursing journals. This is an index only! You will not be able to read the full-text of the articles. However, it indexes thousands of medical publications. PubMedCentral contains full-text articles!  HubMed is a simplified access to PubMed.
  • Medline Plus
    MedlinePlus provides information from authoritative sources, along an online medical dictionary, an illustrated encyclopedia, and drug/diseases information. Includes medical images!

Federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people.

  • HSTAT
    Search PubMed, CDC Prevention Guidelines, National Guideline Clearinghouse simultaneously. Health Services/Technology Assessment Text is a searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information - along with citation information from PubMed

Nursing Specialized Web Sites

Index of NIH health resources, clinical trials, health hotlines, Medline Plus and drug information