Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Books & eBooks

Guide to information related to nursing: basic; signs, symptoms & treatments; patho information, diseases, drugs, news, trials, and more!

Catalog: Search for Books and More!

Find books, media, and more in library catalog 

Search will open in a new tab.

 

eBooks: Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

female student shelving books

American Heritage Dictionary

Information Please Almanac a database based almanac on the internet.

PDR.net  Prescribers' Digital Reference, browse by drug name and more

Or try these eBook databases:

eBooks: More!

hand touching keyboardWant to read a book online?
Check out the following options!

Open Library offers free full-text online access to over 1 million online books. 

Internet Archives offers free full-text online access to books, audio, video, and movies.

 

Our DATABASES often include ebooks!  These ebooks are searchable - the database searches the ebooks for your topic - giving you only that chapter/section of the book!   eBook Collection offers you full-text online access to hundreds of books.  For biographical information, search by the last name of the person you are looking for.  Includes books on almost any topic!

Contact Us

We look forward to meeting you in person, by email or virtually!

Questions/Reference:
Downtown: 214-860-2174
West:  972-391-1433
 

About Us

Ask A Librarian

In Person:
Downtown: B200
West: W138
 
Circulation:
Downtown: 214-860-2175
West: 972-391-1427
 

facebook button

twitter button

Instagram icon

 

Text Books

Check your syllabus for textbook or call the college bookstore

  1. Get your FREE eBook Textbook with IncludEd!
  2. College Bookstore to rent or buy; used or new
  3. Online bookstores (check for edition)
  4. Used bookstores (check for edition)
  5. Link will open in new window.  Course Reserves
    • Usually text books 
    • Sometimes extra material for classes
    • Use Reserve items inside the library
    • 2-hour time period
    • Ask for them at the Circulation Desk in the Library
    • Search the Library Catalog for Course ReservesChange All to Course Reserves in the search box.

Your Library Account

Checking Out Books: 

Your school I.D. is your library card.

Total Number of Check Outs: 

10 books, 4 per library visit, for a total checkout of 10 items.

Check Out Period: 

Books can be checked out for 3 weeks and renewed once.

If additional time is needed after the first renewal, book needs to be returned to the library and rechecked out after 24 hours. 

All books must be returned by the last day of class.

Your Account

After signing in, you can 

  • Renew Online
  • Check Your Account -  See what you have checked out
  • Catalog-  Request books & media from other DCCCD libraries.  

Newest Books

Discover the newest books and audio books at the

El Centro Library.

Inter-library & Inter-campus loans

Interlibrary and intercampus loans are not currently available for the Fall 2020 semester. Please check back often for updates.

Inter-campus loans can be ordered through the catalog.

Inter-library loans  are loans from libraries outside of DCCCD libraries. You will need to login to access the inter-library loan form.