Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Databases with Online Journals

Guide to information related to nursing: basic; signs, symptoms & treatments; patho information, diseases, drugs, news, trials, and more!

Recommended Databases

hands on computer keyboardDatabases may contain ebooks, magazines, newspapers, journals, pictures, and media! You can also go to the database list and sort by subject, including Health Sciences.

Nursing Journals in Databases

Periodical Title Database Full-Text Coverage Span
 AAACN Viewpoint  CINAHL Complete  2004 to present
 AACN Bold Voices  CINAHL Complete  2009 to present
 AANA Journal  CINAHL Complete  1981 to present
 AAOHN Journal  CINAHL Complete  2003 - 2010
 The ABNF Journal  CINAHL Complete  2002 to present
 Accident and Emergency Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  2005 - 2006
 ACCNS Journal for Community Nurses  CINAHL Complete  2005 - 2006
 Advanced Studies in Nursing (Johns Hopkins)  CINAHL Complete  2008 to present
 Alabama Nurse  CINAHL Complete  2000 to present
 Alaska Nurse  CINAHL Complete  1995 to present
 Alberta RN  CINAHL Complete  1998 to present
 American Journal of Critical Care  CINAHL Complete  2002 to present
 American Nurse  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  2001 to present
 American Nurse Today  Health Reference Center Academic  2013 to present
 ANNA Journal  Health Reference Center Academic  1995 - 1999
 Annual Review of Nursing Education  CINAHL Complete  2005 - 2008
 Annual Review of Nursing Research  CINAHL Complete  2005 - 2012
 ANS: Advances in Nursing Science  CINAHL Complete  1999 - 2005
 AORN Journal  CINAHL Complete  2004 to present
 AORN Journal  Health Reference Center Academic  1996 - 2008
 Aquichan  Academic Search Complete  2005 to present
 Arkansas Nursing News  CINAHL Complete  1995 to present
 ASBN Update  CINAHL Complete  2000 to present
 Australasian Journal of Neuroscience  CINAHL Complete  2005 - 2008
 Australian & New Zealand Journal of Mental Health Nursing  Academic Search Complete  1998 - 2001
 Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present
 Australian Nurses Journal  CINAHL Complete  1981 - 1993
 The Australian Nursing Journal: ANJ  CINAHL Complete  1993 to present
 Avances en Enfermeria  MedicLatina  2007 to present
 Bariatric Nursing and Surgical Patient Care  Health Reference Center Academic  2007 - 2011
 Best Practice  Health Reference Center Academic  2009 - 2011
 BMC Nursing  Academic Search Complete  2002 to present
 British Journal of Community Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2002 to present
 British Journal of Nursing  CINAHL Complete  1992 to present
 British Journal of Perioperative Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2004 - 2005
 British Journal of School Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2008 to present
 California Nurse  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  2002 - 2006
 Canadian Journal of Neuroscience Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2007 to present
 The Canadian Nurse  CINAHL Complete  2004 to present
 Canadian Nursing Home  CINAHL Complete  2006 to present
 Canadian Operating Room Nursing Journal  CINAHL Complete  2005 - 2011
 Cancer Nursing Practice  CINAHL Complete  2008 to present
 Cancer Nursing Practice  Health Reference Center Academic  2003 - 2012
 CANNT Journal  CINAHL Complete  2004 to present
 Chart  CINAHL Complete  1995 - 2012
 Clinical Advisor  Health Reference Center Academic  2005 to present
 Clinical Excellence for Nurse Practitioners  CINAHL Complete  2004 - 2005
 Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  2000 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Clinical Nursing Research  Health Reference Center Academic  1996 - 1998
 Colorado Nurse  Health Reference Center Academic  2007 to present
 Community Practitioner  Health Reference Center Academic  2007 to present
 Connect: The World of Critical Care Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  2006 to present
 Connecticut Nursing News  CINAHL Complete  1995 - 2011
 Contemporary Nurse  Health Reference Center Academic  2005 to present
 Creative Nursing  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  1994 - 2011
 Critical Care Nurse   Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  2002 to present
 Critical Care Nursing Quarterly  CINAHL Complete  1999 - 2005
 Curationis  CINAHL Complete  2006 to present
 Day Surgery Australia  Academic Search Complete  2011 to present
 Dermatology Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  1996 - 2010
 Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  2001 - 2007
 Dissector  Health Reference Center Academic  2011 to present
 Dynamics  Health Reference Center Academic  2006 to present
 ED nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  1997 - 2011
 EDTNA/ERCA Journal of Renal Care  CINAHL Complete  2005 - 2006
 Emergency Nurse  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  2002 to present
 European Diabetes Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2004 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 European Journal of Cancer Care  CINAHL Complete  1998 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Evidence-based Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  2001 - 2003
 Hacettepe Univ Faculty of Health Svcs Nursing Journal  Academic Search Complete
 Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed
 2009 to present
 Hacettepe Univ Faculty of Health Svcs Nursing Journal  2009 to present
 Hand In Hand  CINAHL Complete  1999 to present
 Hispanic Health Care International  CINAHL Complete  2005 - 2012
 HIV Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  2007 - 2012
 Holistic Nursing Practice  CINAHL Complete  1999 - 2005
 ICUs & Nursing Web Journal  CINAHL Complete  2006
 Info Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  2007 to present
 Intensive and Critical Care Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  2005 - 2006
 International Journal of Mental Health Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2002 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 International Journal of Nursing Education Scholarship  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present
 International Journal of Nursing Knowledge  CINAHL Complete  2012 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 International Journal of Nursing Practice  CINAHL Complete  1998 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 International Journal of Nursing Studies  Health Reference Center Academic  2005 - 2007
 Int'l Journal of Nursing Terminologies & Classifications  CINAHL Complete  2002 - 2011
 International Journal of Older People Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2006 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 International Journal of Palliative Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2002 to present
 International Journal of Psychiatric Nursing Research  CINAHL Complete  2005 - 2008
 International Midwifery  Health Reference Center Academic  2002 - 2009
 International Nursing Review  CINAHL Complete  1981 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Investigación y Educación en Enfermería  Health Reference Center Academic  2005 to present
 Iowa Nurse Reporter  Health Reference Center Academic  2007 to present
 Irish Journal of Anaesthetic & Recovery Nursing  Academic Search Complete  2007 to present
 Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  1998 to present (Embargo* 18 mos)
 Issues in Mental Health Nursing  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  1998 to present (Embargo* 18 mos)
 Japan Journal of Nursing Science  CINAHL Complete  2004 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 JOCEPS: The Journal of Chi Eta Phi Sorority  CINAHL Complete  2004 to present
 Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2002 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Journal of Addictions Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2003 to present (Embargo* 18 mos)
 Journal of Advanced Nursing  CINAHL Complete  1981 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing  CINAHL Complete  1999 - 2005
 Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing  CINAHL Complete  1998 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Journal of Children's & Young People's Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2008
 Journal of Clinical Nursing  CINAHL Complete  1992 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Journal of Community Health Nursing  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  1984 to present (Embargo* 18 mos)
 Journal of Community Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present
 Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing  Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)  1996 - 2011
 Journal of Diabetes Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  2002 - 2011
 Journal of Education & Research in Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  2010 to present
 Journal of Gerontological Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2003 - 2010

*Embargo: period of time before full text is available. Example: If a journal has a three-month embargo, the most recent issue you can access will be three months old.

Periodical Title Database Full-Text Coverage Span
 Paediatric Nursing  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  2002 - 2011
 Parish Nurse Perspectives  CINAHL Complete  2006 to present
 Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner  CINAHL Complete  2000 - 2006
 Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner  Health Reference Center Academic  2001 - 2007
 Pediatric Nursing  Health Reference Center Academic  1996 to present
 Pennsylvania Nurse  CINAHL Complete  1995 to present
 Perspectives in Psychiatric Care  CINAHL Complete  1998 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Practice Nurse: The Journal for Nurses in General Practice    General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)  2002 to present
 Practice Nurse: The Journal for Nurses in General Practice    Health Reference Center Academic  2000 - 2008
 Practice Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2007 to present
 Primarily Nursing  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  1994
 Primary Health Care  CINAHL Complete  2001 to present
 Progress in Cardiovascular Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2004 - 2009
 Progress in Palliative Care  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Public Health Nursing  CINAHL Complete  1998 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Queensland Nurse  CINAHL Complete  2008 to present
 Referência: Revista Científica da Unidade de Investigação em Ciências da Saúde: Domínio de Enfermagem  Academic Search Complete  2007 to present
 Reflections on Nursing Leadership  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present
 Registered Nurse: Journal of Patient Advocacy  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  2006 - 2009
 Renal Society of Australasia Journal  MedicLatina  2005 to present
 Research & Theory for Nursing Practice  CINAHL Complete  2005 - 2012
 Research in Gerontological Nursing   CINAHL Complete  2008 - 2010
 Research in Nursing & Health  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Revista Baiana de Enfermagem  Academic Search Complete  2007 to present
 Revista Cubana de enfermería  Academic Search Complete  1998 to present
 Revista Eletrônica de Enfermagem  CINAHL Complete   2007 to present
 Revista Latino-Americana de Enfermagem  Academic Search Complete  2008 - 2012
 Revista Peruana de Obstetricia y Enfermería  MedicLatina  2007 to present
 Revolution: The Journal for RNs & Patient Advocacy  CINAHL Comp  2002 - 2006
 RN
 Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed
Academic Search Complete
 1981 - 2009
 RN  1981 - 2009
 Scandinavian Journal of Caring Sciences  CINAHL Complete  1998 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Self-Care, Dependent-Care & Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2003 to present
 Singapore Nursing Journal  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present
 South Carolina Nurse  Health Reference Center Academic  2006 to present
 Southern Online Journal of Nursing Research  CINAHL Complete  2004 - 2011
 SRNA Newsbulletin  CINAHL Complete  1999 to present
 Stanford Nurse  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present
 Stat: Bulletin of the Wisconsin Nurses Association  CINAHL Complete  1995 to present
 Tar Heel Nurse  CINAHL Complete  1994 to present
 Tennessee Nurse  CINAHL Complete  1995 to present
 Texas Board of Nursing Bulletin  CINAHL Complete  2004 to present
 Texas Nursing  CINAHL Complete  1992 to present
 Try This: Best Practices in Nursing Care to Older Adults  CINAHL Complete  1998 to present
 Try This: Best Practices in Nursing Care to Older Adults w/ Dementia  CINAHL Complete  2003 to present
 Uro-Gram  CINAHL Complete  2006 to present
 Urologic Nursing  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed  2001 to present
 Vård i Norden/Nordic J. of Nursing Research & Clinical Studies  CINAHL Complete  2006 to present
 Veterinary Nursing Journal  Academic Search Complete  2011 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 Vima tou Asklipiou = Rostrum of Asclepius  Academic Search Complete  2011 to present
 Vision de Enfermeria Actualizada  MedicLatina  2008 to present
 Visions: The Journal of Rogerian Nursing Science  Health Reference Center Academic  2002 to present
 Washington Nurse  CINAHL Complete  1995 to present
 West African Journal of Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2007 to present
 Western Journal of Nursing Research  Health Reference Center Academic  1996 - 1998
 Whitireia Nursing Journal  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present
 Windows in Time  Health Reference Center Academic  2002 to present
 World of Irish Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2004
 World of Irish Nursing & Midwifery  CINAHL Complete  2005 to present
 Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2004 to present (Embargo* 1 yr)
 The Journal of Nursing  CINAHL Complete  2007 to present

*Embargo: period of time before full text is available. Example: If a journal has a three-month embargo, the most recent issue you can access will be three months old.

Search Strategies

AND (narrows your topic)

  • Example:  cancer AND diagnosis

OR (broadens your topic)

  • Example: teens OR adolescents

Truncation: *  (replaces any number of letters at the ends of words - like a wildcard)

  • Example:  imag* finds image, images, imaging

Nesting: ( )

  • Example:  cancer AND (breast OR cervical)

Phrases: " "

  • Example:  "axillary web syndrome"

Looking for a Particular Magazine or Journal?

Use Online Journal List to find specific magazines & journals in our databases.